Perfect strike lifts Ville

DELIGHTED CHAMPIONS: Crissan Dalley (third right) member of the sponsorship team, Sandals Resorts International, is all smiles, sharing in the delight of the Clubville team following their victory in St. James FA Sandals Resorts International Division One League final played at Jarrett Park last Saturday. Ville cooled Fire House 1-0 to claim the crown Noelita Lawrence-Ricketts photos

Noelita Lawrenc-Ricketts

Clubville are the St. James FA Sandals Resorts International Division One champions following their 1-0 win over Fire House in the grand final on Saturday, May 26, at Jarrett Park.

The vital goal came late in the contest from an exquisite free kick which nestled into the top right hand corner of the net.

The scrappy affair between the sides, unworthy of being a final, had little to delight the crowd on hand early on, before Clubville, following the resumption of the second half, began to be more attacking, asking questions of their opponents’ tottering backline.

Most of the close call chances came from set pieces, but it was Fire House who got the first sight at goal, but the effort from Brodrick Stevens flashed inches wide of the target from close range.

Resorting to a three-man attack, Clubville, running at the opposing defenders late on, got a free kick just outside 18-yard box after an attacking player, darting goal-wards, was tripped up by two defenders.

Keino Campbell stepped up to take the 22 yards kick, which he sensationally curled right-rooted into the corner of the net past the outstretched arms of the diving goalkeeper, Marvin Campbell, between the sticks for Fire House.

For their efforts, Clubviille gained promotion to next season’s Major League and also walked away with $150,000, medals and a trophy.

The losing Fire House team received $120,000 for their runner-up spot, while Discipline United and Norwood Strikers, beaten semi-finalists, walked away with 70 and 50,000 dollars respectively.

Norwood, for the second time in three years, bagged the Most Disciplined team award and Warren Rashford took home the prize for the leading marksman, netting a season-high seven goals.

The Most Valuable Player award went to Keino Campbell of Clubville.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here